Read: Tuesdays with Morrie

April 24, 2010 at 2:01 pm (Uncategorized) (, )

This is a non-fiction book, written by Mitchell Albom (known as Mitch in the book) about those final days he spent with his dying lecturer. In this book, Mitch Albom recorded down the lessons he learnt about life and death from his beloved lecturer. Prof Morrie Schwartz was a sociology lecturer back in the university where Mitch earned his degree. Sixteen years after Mitch graduated, by chance, he got to know that his lecturer was diagnosed with a deadly illness called ALS. During the time, Mitch was a very successful columnist where he devoted all his time into his career, buried his childhood ambition to become a pianist. He was lost. Soon, when he visited his lecturer, he was taught by Morrie, the greatest lessons about life.

This book has greatly touched me. It taught me more about life. There were important things that I didn’t realize it matter so much to me before I read the book. One of the chapters that had a great impact on me was about “Forgiveness”. Morrie said that we should forgive ourselves and then forgive others before we die. There were countless times where we did something that made us regret when we looked back after a while. People always said time flies. It’s true and we can never go back to what have been done or happened in the past. My dad has passed away some time ago, when I was still a student. I could have seen him for one last time if it was not because of my decision to earn some extra money during semester break. I regretted about what had happened and sometimes blamed myself for the decision made. I couldn’t get it over with. I cried terribly after I comprehended what Morrie said.

Morrie also told us to commit our time to create something that gives us purpose and meaning in life. Most of the time, we are too occupied with our jobs and often neglect our spiritual needs/ family. Our culture has taught us to earn money, get rich, own a car, own a house and enjoy early retirement. Most of us have been blinded with worldly materials. Of course, to be able to survive in the society, I must admit that we, sometimes, have to go with the flow of the culture. Morrie said we must be strong enough to stand alone and against the perspective of the culture. I have to agree to Morrie on this. The culture has taught me about the importance of money and I still can’t let go of this. I was struggling when I read this part. I’m not strong enough to go against the culture or I should say I’m still in the quest of finding purpose and meaning of life.

It’s such a great book and it really enlightens me in certain areas of my life. It makes me cherish my life even more nowadays. At the same time, I find myself very miserable because I have wasted almost 24 years not doing what I’m supposed to do. This world would be a happier place if we don’t have to achieve what we are pursuing now.

Leave a Reply

